National Hay Association

"Not for Self, but for All"

Claude Riley Award Winners

2020 Claude Riley Award Winner

Clayton Geralds

The Claude Riley Award is a special recognition for support and contribution to the advancement of the National Hay Association.

In 2017, the Board of Directors began talking about a handbook that would detail the daily operations of the NHA.  A set of Standard Operating Procedures that would guide the Executive Director and the Board of Directors on such items as the selection of a new ED and how membership billing should be handled.  

Clayton championed the project and he and his daughter used the NHA By Laws-the document that guides the workings of the National Hay Association-and identified and explained each one of them by providing guidance on how they were to be adhered to and completed.  It was a great way to lay the framework for the document!

Mr. Geralds solicited the help of several other Board members and they went through each of the 68 files to clarify them and to be sure that the By Laws were being followed and the procedure was clear.  The draft was presented to the Board, several revisions followed, and at the April Board meeting, the Board approved the 129-page National Hay Association Standard Operating Procedures that can be found on our website. 

This manual, that any organization would be proud of, would not have happened without our 2020 Claude Riley Award recipient, Clayton Geralds!

Claude Riley was a Chicago area hay dealer, professional hayman, and strong supporter of the NHA. Claude never missed a convention for 20 years after serving as the NHA President in 1972. Claude died three days after the St Augustine, FL convention. Claude’s obituary named the NHA for memorials and the association decided to create the Riley Award. The Riley Award honors professional haymen and strong NHA supporters.

Past Claude Riley Award Winners

2019 - John and Barbara Randall

2018 - Gary Freeburg

2017 - Michael Davidson

2016 - Robyn Scott
2015 - John Russell
           Julie Foos
 2014 - Bonnie Carr
 2013 - Trish Kieffer
 2012 - Dr. Garry Lacefield
 2011 - Dick Carter
 2010 - Glen Knopp
 2009 - Mert Pratt
 2008 - Greg Braun
 2007 - Tim Serr
 2006 - Harvey Ferris, Jr.
 2005 - Cantrell Hay Company

 2004 - Raymond Oates
 2003 - Amy Freeburg
 2002 - Tom Keene
 2001 - Rollie Bernth
 2000 - John Terleckey
 1999 - David Fink
 1998 - Monique Vinelli
 1997 - Robin Anderson
 1996 - Harlan and Lucille Miller
 1995 - Barbara Spears
 1994 - Jerry and Lela Fanning
 1993 - Larry Brogan
            Duane Jonhson

 1992 - Les and Vera Proehl


4735 Massillon Road, Unit 769

Green, OH 44232

Copyright 2020 National Hay Association

Phone:  (615) 854-5574  Fax: (330) 408-7128

 Office Email:

 Twitter:  @NatlHayAssoc

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software